10 Free AI Note-Taking and Study Apps for College Students in 2026
[IMAGE 1 — Hero: a college student at a library desk with a laptop and tablet, notes open on both. Suggested search: “college student library laptop tablet notes” on Unsplash. Alt text: “Free AI note-taking and study apps for college students”]
Most students do not need a dozen subscriptions. They need one place to capture lectures, one way to turn notes into practice, and a plan for exam week. The good news is that several strong AI study tools are free. The catch is that “free” means very different things: some apps cap your minutes, some limit AI use to a few runs a month, and some are free only if you have a school email.
This guide covers ten apps, what their free plans include as of October 2026, and where each one stops being free. Limits change often and several pages say they are subject to change, so confirm the numbers in the app before you rely on them.
Quick Pick: What Do You Need?
- Record lectures and get transcripts: Otter, Fireflies
- Study from your own PDFs and slides: NotebookLM
- One workspace for notes and assignments: Notion, Obsidian
- Flashcards and spaced repetition: RemNote, Anki, Quizlet
- Handwritten notes on a tablet: Goodnotes
- Ask questions and get explanations: ChatGPT
Most students do well with two or three: for example, a recorder, a notes app, and a flashcard tool.
How We Picked These Apps
We read each vendor’s own pricing or help page where it loaded, and we used outside comparisons only for context. We flagged conflicts between sources. One comparison we read ranks its own app first and claims it is the only free tool that covers the whole study workflow, so we did not rely on its rankings.
The Ten Apps
1. Google NotebookLM
NotebookLM answers questions using only the sources you upload, such as lecture slides, PDFs, and notes. That makes it useful for building study guides without the model wandering off-topic.
According to Google’s help page, the free Standard plan allows 100 notebooks per user and 50 sources per notebook. Plus raises that to 200 notebooks and 100 sources, and Pro to 500 and 300. The page does not state a daily chat limit, and it says limits are subject to change. Some third-party articles describe NotebookLM as having no usage caps, but Google’s page does not say that, so treat that claim cautiously.
Best for: turning a semester of readings into summaries, questions, and study guides.
Watch out for: it works from your sources, so it does not record live lectures.
2. Notion
Notion is a flexible workspace for notes, tasks, and databases. Its Free plan is available to everyone, with 5 MB per file upload and 7 days of page history. It includes only a limited trial of Notion AI.
Students and educators can get the Plus plan free, for one member, by signing up with a school email address. Notion says thousands of school email domains are eligible, not just .edu. Compared with Free, the offer adds more guests, longer version history, and larger uploads.
Best for: organizing courses, deadlines, and notes in one place.
Watch out for: the free plan’s AI is a trial, not ongoing access. Do not plan your workflow around it.
3. Otter
Otter records and transcribes lectures and meetings. The free Basic plan includes 300 transcription minutes a month, a 30-minute limit per conversation, 3 imported audio or video files in your lifetime, 25 conversations of history, and 20 AI chat queries. Exports are limited to audio and text.
Individuals with a .edu email can get 20% off Pro. The page lists Pro Annual at $6.67 a month ($79.99 billed yearly) after the discount, and Pro Monthly at $13.59.
Best for: recording lectures and getting searchable transcripts.
Watch out for: the 30-minute per-conversation cap is shorter than many lectures. Pause and restart, or plan for upgrades. Also, always ask your instructor before recording a class.
4. Fireflies
Fireflies is a meeting recorder that also works for online classes and study groups. Its free plan lists unlimited transcription with an asterisk whose footnote was not visible on the page, plus 400 minutes of storage per team, limited AI summaries, 20 AI credits, and a 2-hour recording limit.
Paid Pro is listed at $10 per seat a month billed annually. The page mentions no student discount.
Best for: group projects and online sessions where you need a record of who said what.
Watch out for: because the “unlimited” transcription note is unexplained, check the real limit before you depend on it.
5. RemNote
RemNote combines notes with spaced-repetition flashcards, so what you write can become review cards. The free plan includes unlimited notes and flashcards across synced devices, but only 3 annotated PDFs, files, or websites, and 250 AI credits a month. AI cards from text or PDFs are capped at 5 on free, and there are 20 file uploads per day at up to 8 MB each.
Paid Pro is $8 a month ($96 yearly) with 1,000 credits, and Pro with AI is $18 a month ($216 yearly) with 20,000. The page mentions no student discount.
Best for: students who want notes and memorization in one app.
Watch out for: the free AI limits are small, so use the AI for your highest-value material only.
[IMAGE 2 — A phone showing flashcards next to a notebook with highlighted notes. Suggested search: “flashcards phone notebook study desk” on Pexels. Alt text: “AI flashcard study apps for college students”]
6. Goodnotes
Goodnotes is a handwriting-first notes app popular with tablet users. The free plan allows up to 3 notebooks, 3 text documents, 3 whiteboards, 100 MB of storage, 3 files with a 5 MB import size, and 20 minutes of audio recording. Q&A Support and quiz generation from notes are each listed as up to 5 a month.
Paid plans are Essential at $11.99 a year and Pro at $35.99 a year on annual billing, with an AI Pass add-on at $9.99 a month. The page states no education discount, though it lists a free Education option that requires setting up an admin console.
Best for: students who take handwritten notes on a tablet.
Watch out for: the three-notebook cap is tight. Plan to use folders and separate documents.
7. Anki
Anki is a long-standing flashcard app built on spaced repetition. The desktop version is free for Windows, macOS, and Linux, and Android’s AnkiDroid is free. iOS purchases fund development, and one comparison puts the iOS app at a one-time $25, though Anki’s own page does not list a price. Anki does not mention built-in AI features. You make cards yourself or use add-ons.
Best for: long-term memorization for medicine, languages, law, and other fact-heavy courses.
Watch out for: making cards takes time, and the interface is plain. Pair it with an AI tool that drafts questions from your notes.
8. Obsidian
Obsidian is a note-taking app that stores notes as plain files on your device. It is free for personal use with no sign-up required. Optional Sync costs $4 a month billed annually and Publish $8 a month, with 40% off for students, faculty, and nonprofit employees. Obsidian’s page mentions no built-in AI features.
Best for: students who want a private, long-term knowledge base that links ideas across courses.
Watch out for: it takes setup time, and AI features depend on community add-ons that you should vet.
9. Quizlet
Quizlet is a familiar flashcard platform with a huge library of existing decks. Its upgrade page lists Quizlet Plus at $19.99 a year and does not describe the free plan. One comparison says AI card generation from your own notes needs a paid plan at roughly $35 a year, which conflicts with the $19.99 on Quizlet’s page. Check the price in the app.
Best for: quickly finding existing decks for common courses.
Watch out for: shared decks can contain mistakes. Verify answers against your textbook and lecture notes.
10. ChatGPT (Free Plan)
ChatGPT works as a study partner: ask it to explain a concept in simpler terms, quiz you on your notes, or critique your outline. The free plan has usage limits, and the Plus plan costs $20 a month. Free is enough for occasional study help.
Best for: explanations, practice questions, and feedback on drafts.
Watch out for: it can be confidently wrong. Check facts and citations before you submit anything.
Comparison at a Glance
| App | Main job | Free plan highlights | Student deal |
|---|---|---|---|
| NotebookLM | Study from your sources | 100 notebooks, 50 sources each | Not stated |
| Notion | Notes and organization | Free plan, AI trial | Plus free with school email |
| Otter | Lecture transcripts | 300 minutes a month | 20% off with .edu |
| Fireflies | Meeting and class records | 400 minutes storage, 20 AI credits | Not stated |
| RemNote | Notes plus flashcards | 250 AI credits a month | Not stated |
| Goodnotes | Handwritten notes | 3 notebooks, limited AI | Not stated |
| Anki | Spaced repetition | Free on desktop and Android | Not applicable |
| Obsidian | Private knowledge base | Free for personal use | 40% off Sync and Publish |
| Quizlet | Flashcards | Not described on page | Not stated |
| ChatGPT | Explanations and quizzes | Free with limits | Not stated |
A Simple Setup That Works
Here is a low-cost combination, depending on how you study:
- Lecture-heavy courses: Otter for recording, NotebookLM for turning slides and readings into study guides, Anki or RemNote for review.
- Writing-heavy courses: Notion for planning, ChatGPT for feedback on structure, Obsidian if you want a long-term archive.
- Tablet users: Goodnotes for handwritten notes, plus NotebookLM for questions on exported PDFs.
Start with the free plans. Upgrade only if you hit a limit during real coursework.
Common Mistakes to Avoid
Recording without permission. Many schools and instructors have rules. Ask first.
Letting AI write your notes. Notes help you learn when you process them. Use AI to check and expand your own notes, not to replace them.
Trusting AI flashcards blindly. Review every card for accuracy before you memorize it.
Using too many apps. Each extra app adds friction. Pick two or three and use them consistently.
Ignoring privacy. Lectures and notes may include personal details. Read how each app stores and uses your data.
Missing the student deals. Notion Plus and Otter’s .edu discount only help if you claim them with a school email.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which app is best for transcribing lectures for free? Otter’s free plan offers 300 minutes a month, with a 30-minute cap per conversation. Fireflies also has a free plan, with different limits.
Is NotebookLM really free? Yes, the Standard plan is free, with limits on notebooks and sources per Google’s help page. Paid plans raise those limits.
Can I get Notion for free as a student? Notion says students and educators can get the Plus plan free for one member with a school email address.
What is the best free flashcard app? Anki is free on desktop and Android and works well for memorization, but cards are mostly manual. RemNote offers notes and flashcards with limited free AI.
Is it okay to use AI for studying? Yes, as long as you follow your school’s rules. Use it to understand and practice, not to submit work you did not do.
The Bottom Line
The best free setup is small: one tool to capture lectures, one to organize notes, and one to practice. NotebookLM, Notion with the student offer, and Anki cover a lot of ground at no cost. Add Otter or RemNote if you need transcripts or AI flashcards, and upgrade only after you hit a real limit.
For more study tools, see our guides to free AI tools for students, AI tools that help you prepare for exams faster, and AI tools for language learners.
Sources
- Google NotebookLM help: plan limits
- Notion pricing
- Otter pricing
- Fireflies pricing
- RemNote pricing
- Goodnotes pricing
- Anki
- Obsidian pricing
- Quizlet upgrade page
- NoteHive blog comparison (context only; the publisher ranks its own app first)











































